Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

CBH Group Women's Country Championships kicks off this weekend

Published Tue 11 Jun 2024

Hundreds of regional hockey players will descend on Perth Hockey Stadium and Fletcher Park this weekend as the CBH Group Women’s Country Championships returns for 2024.

From the southern reaches of the Great Southern region to the northern expanses of the Pilbara, a total of 47 hockey teams representing the state’s vast regions will battle it out for regional supremacy from Friday 14 June to Sunday 16 June.

The Women’s tournament will feature five Open divisions and two Masters divisions, with Divisions 3, 4 and Masters Division 1 split into two pools during the Round Robin stage of the competition.

Matches will be played across Perth Hockey Stadium’s two turfs, as well as the four grass fields at Fletcher Park.

For the first two days of the three-day tournament, matches will kick off from 8.50am at Perth Hockey Stadium and 9.45am at Fletcher Park.

On the final day of the tournament, matches will kick off from 8.30am, with the Division 1 Grand Final closing out the tournament at 2.30pm on PHS-1.

All finals matches played on PHS-1 will be broadcast LIVE and FREE on Streamer.

Division 1 sees the return of defending champions Geraldton, as well as runner-up Upper Great Southern Hockey Association, Lower Great Southern Hockey Association, and Bunbury.

Joining the Division 1 competition is Eastern Goldfields Hockey Association, who will begin their CBH Group Women’s Country Championship campaign against UGSHA in the opening match on PHS-2 on Friday 14 June.

Geraldton and UGSHA will face off in a 2023 grand final rematch on Saturday 15 June at 5.10pm on PHS-1.

Division 2 will feature five teams, with Busselton joining defending champions EDHA along with CGSHA, Pilbara Krocs and Ongerup.

A rematch between 2023 grand finalists EDHA and Pilbara Krocs will kick off the action on PHS-1 at 8.50am on Friday 14 June.

Division 3 will feature a total of eight teams, with CWLHA, Esperance, NMWHA, and RDHA competing in Pool A, while EAWHA, Geraldton, Mortlock and Peel will compete in Pool B.

Division 4 features a total of nine teams, with returning champions Busselton, Avon, CGSHA, CMHA and EDHA competing in Pool A, while EGHA, Pilbara Krocs, UGSHA and Warren will compete in Pool B.

Division 5 will see LGSHA and RDHA join defending champions Donnybrook, EAWHA, Warren Raiders and Ongerup.

Masters Division 1 will feature a total of eight teams, with defending champions UGSHA, Bunbury, Esperance and Geraldton competing in Pool A, while CWLHA, EAWHA, EDHA and Mortlock will compete in Pool B.

Masters Division 2 will feature six teams in Avon, EDHA, EGHA, LGSHA, Peel and the Robins.